Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Sunny Breakfast

My morning started with Willow walking at 5:55 am. She was up for almost an hour and a half from 1:20. So I’m a little tired from a rough night.  She wouldn’t settle even after feeding her.  

Now she’s asleep on me in the Moby and I’m hoping she’ll sleep for a couple of hours.  I’ve sent the kids and Michael grocery shopping so I can get some quiet time to nap her. 

Every so often, I can hear her sniffling as she sleeps. She’s still congested but is sleeping much better during the first part of the night. She also has been devouring her cereal when I feed her.  Her preference is plain. 

At 6:50 am I hear Zander and Violet’s door open and footsteps into the bathroom.  They’re up.  In my mind I think, I might as well be.  And then the memory of Aroma’s quinoa breakfast salad popped came back.  

I take Willow down and feed her oatmeal cereal while I bake the bacon in the oven. I also assemble ingredients I have lying around in the fridge. Here’s what I came up with. 

Of course, you can’t forget the soft boiled egg of the dressing. The egg is a 6-minute egg.  As for the dressing, it’s my version of the delicious but pricey Wafu dressing. If anyone knows me, I like to think, “hey, I can make that!”.

So I looked up the ingredients for the dressing and just played around to get the right taste.  I never measure so it’s hard to say how much. I know, it’s one my flaws.  Oh well. 

So, here are the ingredients in my version of Wafu. It’s essentially a sesame seed paste dressing. So you can guess, tahini is the main ingredient. 


Ingredients: tahini, rice vinegar, sugar, salt, mayonnaise

The mayonnaise is what makes the dressing smooth and creamy. I’ve made a big bottle and now it’s almost done.  It’s so delicious and it goes well with a lot of food. 

The beets were sous vide with my Anova precision cooker I got for Mother’s Day. They cooked for about 2-3 hrs and came out tender and sweet. 

What’s your favourite homemade salad dressing?

Happy cooking. 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

