Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Back Again

I’m back after a long leave – two kids, going back to work and a few years later.  

I’m on my 3rd maternity leave. Most likely the last one.  I’m running out of energy and gaining more weight than I’d like to.  Other than that, not much has changed. I still like food – cooking and eating, crafting and just making things.  

My baby is now 5’months old and she’s such a doll. I could kiss that face all day long. I think I do. Willow loves to sleep in the wrap. When she was younger I used to be able to make all kinds of noises, pots banging, water running and food sizzling in a hot pan, and she would sleep through it all. Not anymore. 

For Mother’s Day I got a Precision cooker by Anova.  I used it for the first time today.  It was neat being able to control the timing and temperature from my smartphone.  I decided to sous vide the leftover taro root from hotpot over the weekend. I had a sudden craving for taro, tapioca pearls and bananas cooked in coconut milk. 

Instead of cooking the taro in the coconut milk and having it turn to mush, I pre-cooked them in the precision cooker and then simmered them in the coconut milk after. The results were heavenly. Michael loved the dessert.  So rich, coconutty and full of tapioca.  

I also bought a bag of beets and will be cooking them sous vide tomorrow. Yum. 

Have you ever had anything sous vide?  Or maybe you cook using this method. Share your experience with this cooking technique and tell me what you think. 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

