Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Roomies-in-training

Ok. I’ll admit, the transition was rough last night. After the first wakeup from V, she lasted till midnight. M went in again and Z woke up this time from all the crying. She wouldn’t settle and so I had to go in and nurse her.

Surprisingly, she nursed quite a bit and I whispered and explained to her that, “Now that I’ve nursed you, you need to go back to sleep. Here is a pacifier to help you. No more crying because we don’t want to
wake Z up, ok?”. I waited until she stopped whimpering and then I laid her in her crib.

At 2:30am, she finally fell back asleep. The next time she woke was 5:15 am. Unfortunately, Z had also woken up. I wasn’t aware of this when I went in to nurse her so he started whining about the fact that he can’t sleep anymore because it’s too noisy.

I left again, for the 2nd time, after I laid her down. My departure was quickly followed by loud cries and screams of “mommy. Mommy.”. M and I laid in bed, alternating the video monitor channels between Z and V, and waiting for any progress.

Finally, at the 10 minute mark, I sent M in. Gentle talk with Z about staying in bed until 6:30/7 and that the weekends are mommy and daddy’s time to sleep in. Also that he needs to be the big brother and talk to V about not crying and going to sleep.

It worked. Gentle talk always work with him.

M left and at least Z was quiet. V was still crying but she laid down within a few minutes. And from our view from the monitor, they appear to be sleeping.

Let’s just hope it is so. Mission accomplished. (For how long, who knows?)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

