Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Meal Planning

It has been a while since I’ve cooked a meal that was satisfying and a hit with the kids. With work and sleep deprivation, I lost my cooking mojo. There was a phase when coming up with dinners was stressful. It shouldn’t be because I LOVE to cook. Somehow, I couldn’t remember the meals we loved as a couple and it was difficult to feel inspired and creative.

While making our grocery shopping list, a thought came to me. “Why don’t I make Lettuce Wraps?”. So I wrote down, iceberg lettuce, ground pork, and carrots as part of my list. When we came home, I prepared the meat and it was delicious.

That’s when I thought to make meal cards. Here is what they look like.

20130107-221727.jpg

I loved the concept and now, my 3-yr-old can see what’s available for dinner. No more guessing games and struggling with mealtimes. This was also part of our realization that Z does not eat well at home because he doesn’t enjoy the foods. At school, they always have the same meals rotated and he happily feeds himself and eats. At home it’s not the same. So hopefully, we will see some changes.

For tonight, I made pasta with Italian sausage and I used a pack of Knorr Rose sauce to add in for sauciness. V loved it and fed herself without making a mess. In fact, she enjoyed it so much that she finished her dinner before anyone else!!! M loved, loved it!!!

Now, I have to work on breakfasts…that will be another post.

20130107-222235.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

