Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

More Mommy Please

For about 2 weeks now, I have been putting Z to bed at night. And regardless of the fact that he gets to spend extra time with me in the morning and afternoon (as he comes with me to work and we drive home together), he still can’t get enough of me.

It’s getting to the point where he is rejecting M for everything. Discipline-wise, he gets very angry with him and at bedtime he gets terribly upset – so much so that he is hysterically crying. And he flails his body when M tries to pick him up to hold him. This has to be a phase. It’s upsetting for both of them, in their own ways.

Tonight, it took V a lot longer to fall asleep so Z and I had so much fun together. We were laughing at silly things and he thoroughly enjoyed me reading the Robert Munsch collection book. In fact I had to say no to him because he would’ve asked me to read all 5 stories otherwise. When M came in, after I’d already turned off the lights, he got so upset that he was practically wailing.

The only thing that calms him down at that point is holding him close to me. I sang him a song and rocked him. He fell asleep almost immediately after that. It was also late for him – 8:00pm. He was exhausted, I could tell.

Then around 9:20pm, he woke up crying. I sent M up because i had just started painting my nails and wanted them to dry. Well, I eventually went to his room because he was just inconsolable by M and it seemed to make things worse when he tried to do something.

The entire time he was crying, his eyes were closed. I held him for less than 10 min and within minutes of holding him, he calmed down. Then his breathing changed. I whispered to him, “Are you ok now”, to which he nodded yes. He gave me permission to put him back in the bed and I kissed him several times and told him I love him and wished him a goodnight.

I hope he will have a more peaceful sleep for the rest of the night.

Needless to say, I had to take off all the nail polish on my nails as 2 of them smudged badly. Oh well. That’s the story of my life and giving myself a Manicure.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

