Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

A Pleasant Surprise

Ok, I’ll admit, it has been a while since I’ve posted a Daily thoughts post. Today is a very special day.

It started with our nanny phoning in to tell us that she’s not coming into work due to the ‘severe weather’. Hurricane Sandy’s presence was felt starting yesterday. Winds picked up last night, and all over the news, bad things were happening around parts of the US.

Naturally, we were on the watch for any school closures, including our own. Hillcrest is closed due to power outtage. No other school seems to be closed other than that and Crestview. We start getting ready eventually around 7:10am. Both kids were up early – V, at 5:30am, and Z at same time, too, due to a diaper leak. He went back to sleep after M change him and tucked him back in. He must have slept for about an extra 20 min or so.

We got downstairs around 7:25 am and I start breakfast while the kids play. Minutes later, our nanny arrives and I’m relieved. Over the course of breakfast, the atmosphere
seemed relaxed – both kids are eating happily. In fact I was enjoying the breakfast together so much I wasn’t looking forward to getting to work. I was also not worried about the time I’d get to work.

Finally, in the car, at 8:15am, I drop M off to his school. Then I drive to mine. I had the music on loud and I was feeling great. I also did my hair, too, which is a rare thing. Then as I pull up to the school lot entrance I notice the emptiness at the front of the school. I turn to pool at our school notice board and it read, “No Power. School closed.”

I wanted to jump for joy and drive straight home to surprise the kids but I called M instead. On my way out I spot a few kids heading to school and I rolled down my window to share with them the good news. That felt good. M suggested that I go get the winter tires on and get an oil change.

So here I am sitting Toronto Mazda, blogging. I also went to No Frills to get groceries since I had 30 minutes. I also brought my school work so I can get marking and report cards done. I plan to go to scholastic and Dearborn, if time permits.

All in all, I’m VERY satisfied with this day so far…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

