Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Sleep Training Night #4

I never thought it would be so easy and relatively painless to sleep train Violet. She is still under 1 year and maybe that is why its a little easier. Even though she can stand, I think she is tired enough to just lay down the entire time. So here is how I did it.

I started implementing a bedtime routine. After changing into her pjs, I read a book to her. It has been the same book – Who Likes Goodnight Kisses by Barney Salzberg. I figured the consistency will help with the routine. With the dim light on, I nurse her until she is drowsy but not asleep. Then I pop her off the breast and turn off the light. I hold her for a minute or two, rocking her to keep her calm, and then put her in the crib. The 2nd night, she cried for 10 minutes and after I picked her up, calmed her down, and put her back in the crib, she cried for less than 5 minutes.

The 3rd night and tonight, she didn’t even cry. And last night was the very first night she stayed in her crib until the morning. She woke up crying 4 times and each time, I nursed her and put her back in the crib. She just went right back to sleep. V had almost 12 hours of sleep – that may explain why she only had two 30-minute naps today.

For what it’s worth, I am happy I initiated the ST since I was really dreading all the crying and screaming. I am even more glad that it worked out so well. The next thing we need to fix is her naps – in the crib, and not in the wrap!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

