Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rough Times

I’ve been having some really rough times with V and her sleep lately. The last two days, especially today, she has been fighting her naps. Maybe I’m not giving her enough activity time, who knows? But she would cry in the swing when it used to take her no more than 5 minutes to fall asleep after I out her in. Today, she was up at 5am because Z was up screaming at 5 am. Then M napped her for about an hour until 6:45am. She didn’t go to sleep until 10:15am and it took so much work, too. I was exhausted and stressed out.
I’m so tired lately from not sleeping at night. Oh yeah, that’s another thing. V starts off in the crib and by 9-9:30 pm she wakes and wants only me, which can only mean she wants to nurse. After nursing her I wait to put her back in the crib and she does not last for more than an hour before I come and get her. Into our bed she goes and she’s there, serving herself with breast milk, anytime she wants. I remember this pattern with Z. He would nurse to fall asleep because he didn’t have any self-soothing strategies.
I’m achy from sleeping on one side, M is uncomfortable because he can’t move and V is a light sleeper. She has been waking up at 5-5:30 am and it’s way too early for us. And her, too. She used to wake up around 7 am and I would be able to nap her in the crib. Not anymore. At night after nursing her I’d be able to put her down awake and she would go back to sleep on her own. No more of that.
Sigh, I think it’s time to sleep train her. I hate to hear her cry and I know M will have to do it again, but the sooner we do it, the better it will be for everyone, I just need to find out what method would work for her and us.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

