Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Sleep Surprises

Lately, I have been able to put Z down for his naps sans song and book.  So far, it has been three times that I have been successful.  The very first time was out of desperation.  V had woken up in her crib from a 20-min nap very upset and I had to go get her.  I put her in our bed so I could nurse her back to sleep as I could tell she was still tired.  Unfortunately, she cried even harder when I left her.  Z, on the other hand, was insisting on brushing his teeth thoroughly with the Bucky Beaver toothpaste.  So I negotiated with him and let him brush his teeth but no song or book, just straight into bed.  He agreed to it and did not give me any problems about it at all.

Then, today, I managed to nap V in the swing in the spare room for all three naps.  I nurse her first then put her in the swing with her knitted blanket.  The first nap she didn’t cry at all and just went to sleep.  The 2nd nap, she cried hard and I had to pick her up, put her in the wrap, and then had to put her back in the swing because she ended up just playing.  I let her cry but she fell asleep after less than 5 min of crying.  The 3rd nap, she cried as well, but again, no more than 5 minutes.

Now, all I have to do is train her to sleep in her crib on her own, without the swinging motion or me nursing her to sleep.  But for the last 2 nights now, she has been staying in the crib and sleeping till 9:30pm for a feed.  It’s at this time that I unable to put her back into the crib and I end up bringing her into our bed.  One day, I  will stay up and put her back there so we can have our bed back.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

