Lv04's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Homemade English Muffins

It’s been awhile since I posted a food blog. This one is from Alton Brown. It’s super easy and turned out delicious. Of the 2 cups of flour I subbed 1/4 for whole wheat.

I didn’t have any metal rings and wasn’t about to open 5 cans of tuna, which I didn’t have anyway So I rummaged through my kitchen drawers and saw the metal rings for the mason jars. Who doesn’t have a ton of those anyway? The muffins cooked perfectly in them.

Some tips to help you make pretty English muffins.
1. I used a nonstick crepe pan instead of a griddle (coz I didn’t have one). Make sure it’s hot before you put your batter in. Also, let the pan heat up slowly on low-medium so that your muffins do not burn.
2. Only out 1.5 tbsp of batter in the rings so they do not puff up into ginormous and lopsided-looking muffins.

That’s all. Enjoy them hot with jam. Yum yum.

20120314-211855.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

